Working Group

The CIRT working group is made up of key University personnel who activate and assist with coordinating a University-wide response to a critical incident or event. The CIRT working group supports the Incident Commander and provides information and recommendations to the CIRT Executive Team as necessary to assist with coordination of a critical incident or event.

The CIRT is organized and operates in accordance with the Incident Command System (ICS) and National Incident Management System structure.

Business Affairs

Robert Smith
VP, University Planning, Design and Operations
Chris Kopach
Asst. VP, Facilities Management
Ted Nasser
Chief Procurement Officer, Procurement & Contracting
Thomas McDonald
Chief of Staff, Business Affairs
Jim Sayre
Executive Director, Parking & Transportation
Garth Perry
Vice President/ Chief Budget Officer, Office of Budget and Planning
Nicole Salazar
VP FSO, Financial Services
Steve Holland
Chief Risk Officer, Risk Mgt. Services
Herb Wagner
Director, Risk Mgt. Services
Lane Spalla
EOC Manager, Emergency Management Coordinator, Police Department
Mario Leon
Lieutenant, Police Department
Mary Beth Tucker
AVP, Title IX
Chante Martin
Interim Assistant Vice President, Human Resources – UAHS Phoenix

Academic Affairs/Provost

Name Title

Marilyn Taylor

Assoc. Vice President, Finance Administration

Timothy Schwab

Executive Director, Administrative Technologies, UITS

Campus Life & Dean of Students

Amanda Kraus
Asst. VP & Director, Campus Life / Disability Resource Center
Alex Blandeburgo
Sr. Director, Housing and Residential Life
Todd Millay
Director, AZ Student Unions
David Salafsky
Interim Co-Executive Director, Campus Health
Harry McDermott
Physician, Campus Health
Glenn Matchett-Morris
Director, Counseling & Psych Services
Bruce Grissom
Director, VETS/Dean of Students

UA Global

Joanne Lagasse-Long
Director, International Student Services
Jill Calderon
Director, UA Global Travel

University Communications

Holly Jensen
VP, Communications
Pam Scott
Assoc. VP, External Communications

Health Sciences

Heather Hartling
Chief of Staff Dean of Med, Health Sciences
Brian Ten-Eyck
Health Sciences (alternate)
Angie Souza Executive Director, Planning and Facilities, Health Sciences

General Counsel

David Wagner
Assoc. General Counsel, Office of the General Counsel


Suzy Mason
Sr. Assoc. Director, Athletics

Research Innovation & Impact

John O’Neil
Chief of Staff  to SVP for Research and Innovation
Stephanie Griffin Laboratory / Safety Services

UACIRT Subject Matter Experts

Called upon to attend additional UACIRT meetings as needed.

Title, Campus Representation
Gail Burd
Sr. Vice Provost, Academic Affairs
Andrea Romero
Vice Provost, Faculty Affairs
Andrea Hernandez
Appointed Professionals Advisory Council
Tara Singleton
Pres., ASUA
Dustin Tran
Matthew Grogan
Classified Staff Council
Dave Heineking
AVP, Campus Operations Phoenix, Phoenix Campus
Marshall MacFarlane
Exec Director, Campus Mgmt and Operations, College of Medicine, Phoenix
Gary Packard
Dean of College of Applied Science & Technology
Jessica Summers
Chair of the Faculty
Iman Hakim
Dean, College of Public Health
Mona Arora
Principle Research Specialist, College of Public Health
Kristen Progreba-Brown
Asst. Professor, College of Public Health
Katherine Ellingson
Asst. Professor, College of Public Health
Ted Tong
Professor, College of Pharmacy
Dale LaFleur
Director, Inst. Relations, UA Global
Troy Vaughn
Director, Campus Recreation
Kasey Urquidez
Vice President/Dean, Enrollment Management and Dean of Undergraduate
Lisa Elfring
Associate Vice Provost, Office of Instruction and Assessment