Working Group

The CIRT working group is made up of key University personnel who activate and assist with coordinating a University-wide response to a critical incident or event. The CIRT working group supports the Incident Commander and provides information and recommendations to the CIRT Executive Team as necessary to assist with coordination of a critical incident or event.

The CIRT is organized and operates in accordance with the Incident Command System (ICS) and National Incident Management System structure.

Business Affairs



Lane Spalla EOC Manager, Emergency Management Coordinator, UAPD

Chris Kopach

Asst. Vice President, Facilities Management

Ted Nasser

Chief Procurement Officer, Procurement & Contracting

Thomas McDonald

Chief of Staff, Business Affairs

Jim Sayre

Executive Director, Parking & Transportation

Garth Perry

Vice President/ Chief Budget Officer, Office of Budget and Planning

Nicole Salazar

Vice President, Financial Services

Miguel Delgado

Chief Risk Officer, Risk Mgt. Services

Herb Wagner

Director, Risk Mgt. Services

Mario Leon

Deputy Chief, Police Department

Mary Beth Tucker

AVP, Title IX

Chante Martin

Interim Assistant Vice President, Human Resources – UAHS Phoenix

Academic Affairs/Provost

Name Title

Marilyn Taylor

Assoc. Vice President, Finance Administration

Timothy Schwab

Executive Director, Administrative Technologies, UITS

Campus Life & Dean of Students



Amanda Kraus

Asst. VP & Director, Campus Life / Disability Resource Center

Alex Blandeburgo

Sr. Director, Housing and Residential Life

Todd Millay

Director, AZ Student Unions

David Salafsky

Interim Executive Director, Campus Health

Aaron Barnes

Director, Counseling & Psych Services

Bruce Grissom

Director, VETS/Dean of Students

UA Global



Joanne Lagasse-Long

Director, International Student Services

Jill Calderon

Director, UA Global Travel

University Communications



Pam Scott

Assoc. VP, External Communications

Health Sciences



Barry Bernard Manager, Media Technical Services, Health Science

Heather Hartling

Chief of Staff Dean of Med, Health Sciences

Angie Souza Executive Director, Planning and Facilities, Health Sciences

General Counsel



David Wagner

Assoc. General Counsel, Office of the General Counsel




Suzy Mason

Sr. Assoc. Director, Athletics

Research Innovation & Impact



John O’Neil

Chief of Staff  to SVP for Research and Innovation

Leon Harris Director, Research Laboratory / Safety Services

UACIRT Subject Matter Experts

Called upon to attend additional UACIRT meetings as needed.


Title, Campus Representation

Harry McDermott Physician, Campus Health

Gail Burd

Sr. Vice Provost, Academic Affairs

Andrea Romero

Vice Provost, Faculty Affairs

Andrea Hernandez

Appointed Professionals Advisory Council

Page Campbell

Senator, ASUA

Dustin Tran


Matthew Grogan

Classified Staff Council

Dave Heineking

AVP, Campus Operations Phoenix, Phoenix Campus

Ken Marcus Executive VP & Chief Financial Officer, UA Tech Parks

Gary Packard

Dean of College of Applied Science & Technology

Jessica Summers

Chair of the Faculty

Iman Hakim

Dean, College of Public Health

Mona Arora

Asst. Professor, College of Public Health

Kristen Progreba-Brown

Asst. Professor, College of Public Health

Katherine Ellingson

Asst. Professor, College of Public Health

Ted Tong

Professor, College of Pharmacy

Dale LaFleur

Director, Inst. Relations, UA Global

Troy Vaughn

Director, Campus Recreation

Kasey Urquidez

Vice President/Dean, Enrollment Management and Dean of Undergraduate

Cynthia Jane - Doane  Director, Attending Veterinarian / University Animal Care

Lisa Elfring

Associate Vice Provost, Office of Instruction and Assessment